Many golfers will invoke the “root rule” in casual play, yet there is no official root rule in the game of golf. Heidi and Tracy explain how, when a ball lands on or near a root, golfers have the option of playing through or, if taking an unplayable lie with one stroke penalty in cases where there’s a concern of injury or damage to equipment. If you’re not sure whether there’s a root nearby, you may probe the surrounding area with a tee to make a more informed decision.
If you have questions on this or any other aspect of the game, please contact us at (843) 837-2231.