Do YOU actually know the rules of golf?

In this episode of Scrum2Scratch, I take on a **10-question golf rules quiz** to test how much I *really* know about the game… and let’s just say, it didn’t go quite as expected 😅

From **bunker rulings** to **ball drops**, **penalty strokes**, and some truly confusing rulebook moments — this is a fun, fast-paced way to challenge your own golf knowledge.

🎯 Score out of 10: I’ll reveal mine at the end…
⛳️ Play along in the comments and let me know how many YOU got right!

🧠 **This video is perfect for:**
– Golfers brushing up on their rules
– Beginners learning the basics
– Club players who *think* they know it all
– Anyone who’s been caught out by a weird ruling mid-round

📍 Topics covered:
– Common golf rules explained
– Penalty drop situations
– Stroke play vs match play
– Lost ball & OB rulings
– Relief areas & hazards
– Funny golf fails and rule confusions

🎥 New to Scrum2Scratch?
We bring you **golf challenges**, **pro athlete guests**, and **golf content with personality**. Hit subscribe for more episodes with rugby stars, sports legends, and plenty of chaos on the course.

#Scrum2Scratch #GolfRules #GolfQuiz #DoYouKnowGolf #GolfChallenge #GolfTest #RulesOfGolf #GolfFails #FunnyGolf #GolfContent #LearnGolf #BeginnerGolf #GolfTips #GolfForBeginners

right let me ask you something do you know all of the rules of golf i don’t think you do i’ve been playing golf now for just over a year and yes it’s pretty early but still every time I’m out on the course somebody has a different version of the rules so in this quick we’re going to test you on 10 of the weirdest strangest most ridiculous rules in golf let’s see how I do multiple choice 10 questions let me know how you go in the comments below what happens if your ball hits your own bag during a shot no penalty play as it lies one stroke penalty two stroke penalty or a free drop and no penalty i’m going to say one shot penalty one shot penalty question number two can you putt with a driver a no it’s not allowed under the rules b yes but only if it’s on the green c yes it’s absolutely fine and D only if your putter is broken what right i know this one you can putt with a driver of course you can cuz you see people often putt with their wedge when they get a bit lazy so God I hope that is the right rule but yes you can put with driver you can putt with any club question three if you swing and miss the ball completely is it counted i’ve only done this in a bunker to be fair no unless the ball moves yes always counts only if your club touches the ground and D yes only off the tea thankfully I’ve only done this in a bunker but on a course I mean it’d be pretty difficult wouldn’t it so you just completely missed the ball cuz you have practice swings i’m going to say no it’s not counted what happens if the ball lands in its own pitch mark on the fairway you must play as it lies you get free relief one stroke penalty you can replace it only if the others agree i think you play it as it lies a i’m going with A you play it as it lies are you allowed to stand out of bounds while hitting a shot if the ball is inbounds a no b yes c only if it’s on the tea and D only if your playing partner agrees again I don’t think your playing partner is allowed to have any influence otherwise it wouldn’t be the rules of golf what if you’re out there on your own yes i think you’re allowed to stand out of bounds if the ball is still in bounds so B yes okay five questions in oh no how am I doing i’m not sure but this is it how confusing is golf now here’s an odd one never even had to think of this if your club breaks mid swing and still hits the ball what happens a shot doesn’t count b replay the shot c it counts as a stroke and D you must take a drop oh my gosh by the way I wonder how many rules there are in golf i wonder if there’s actually a rule book is there a rule book i think C it counts as a shot surely yeah c counts as a shot we’ve all done this one before what happens if you accidentally knock your ball off the tea while addressing the ball is it A a one-stroke penalty b replace it no penalty c play it where it lies play it as it lies Mr gilmore play it as it lies the rule says play it as it lies retake the shot from the tea gosh I’ve done this a lot and obviously when you’re playing with your mates you just pick it back up and put it on everyone has a laugh and someone says “Oh one shot.” So I’m going to say it’s a onestroke penalty i think it’s a onestroke penalty a if your ball marker accidentally moves another player’s ball what’s the rule one stroke penalty to you replace their ball no penalty penalty to the other player or is it D replace both balls and add a stroke each if your ball marker accidentally moves another player’s ball what’s the rule how’s your ball marker going to move another player’s ball i don’t get this question you mark your ball you pick up your ball and your ball marker moves another player’s ball i’m going to go with a one stroke penalty to you can you declare a ball unplayable in a bunker surely not i mean if that’s the case I know what I’m doing next time I go in a bunker no not in bunkers a B yes with a one-stroke penalty c yes but you must drop outside the bunker and D yes but it’s a two-stroke penalty oh I now I’ve heard some funny rules if you putt and it rolls across the green and into a bunker you can take a drop but this rule here can you declare a ball unplayable in a bunker no surely not i’m going to say you can and it’s a one-stroke penalty but if that is the case I should take the one-stroke penalty so maybe it’s two yes but it’s a two-stroke penalty is my guess i have no idea absolutely no idea what happens if your ball is moved by the wind after being marked and replaced on the green so you’ve marked it you’ve picked it up you’ve put your ball back down and you’ve taken your mark and the wind blows it a play it where it ends up b replace it no penalty c two-stroke penalty d remark it but don’t touch the ball surely it’s A play it where it ends up cuz I’ve often played in Scotland and had to sprint to mark my ball before it gets blown back down the hill if it’s on a slope so yeah a play it where it ends up surely right that’s it that was pretty difficult 10 questions let me know how you think you’ve done and here we come with the answers oh no oh no okay here we go the answers one what happens if your ball hits your own golf bag during a shot the answer is B one stroke penalty according to rule 19.2 if the if the player’s ball hits their own equipment including their bag it’s a one-stroke penalty and they play the ball as it lies i’m guessing you can move the bag out the way two can you putt with your driver yeah we got this one right c yes it’s absolutely fine that one was an easy one surely you got that right three if you swing and miss the ball completely is it counted as a shot and the answer is B yes it definitely counts but if you’re doing that like I’ve done you’re pretty bad four what happens if your ball lands in its own pitch mark on the fairway the answer is B you get free relief i can’t believe it since 2019 the rules are now changed and you can have relief from embedded balls anywhere in general area not just on the green question five was are you allowed to stand out of bounds if your ball is in bounds the answer is B yes it doesn’t matter where you’re standing number six was if your club breaks mid swing what happens and the answer is C it counts as a stroke completely agree it’s your own fault if your club breaks all the manufacturers now this is the one I really want to know number seven if you accidentally touch a ball off the tea what happens you can replace it no penalty oh so I can stop making that crap joke oh that’s a shot i can’t believe that but you can swing and miss the ball completely and that is a shot whereas you could touch the ball off the tea and that isn’t a shot what number eight if your ball marker accidentally moves another player’s ball what’s the rule and the answer is B replace a ball no penalty so I got that one wrong as well now the weird one is there’s no penalty as long as it was accidental how do you know if it’s accidental or not simply replace the ball to its original spot might accidentally do that number nine can you declare a ball unplayable in a bunker the answer is B yes a one-stroke penalty so I said two-stroke penalty got that one wrong as well [Music] that’s unbelievable so here’s the rule a ball can be declared unplayable anywhere including in a bunker you can drop the ball within the bunker for one stroke penalty ah okay so you can’t drop it out the bunker you can drop it one stroke penalty inside the bunker which I guess makes sense i can’t believe I got that wrong i thought it meant dropping the ball out of the bunker if it was out of the bunker it’s a two-stroke penalty but I guess you can’t even do that can you do that question 10 was what happens if your ball is moved by the wind after being marked and replaced on the green b replace it no penalty what if natural forces move the ball after it’s been marked and replaced you replace it again no penalty rule 13.1D i can’t believe that so I can stop running around worrying about the wind moving my ball oh my goodness let’s face it I failed miserably four out of 10 is that it how many did you get right let me know in the comments below and also let me know if you’ve ever been caught out by some of these bizarre rules on the course right whatever you do don’t forget to smash the like button below if you’ve learned something new in this episode make sure you’re following along because we got loads of cool stuff coming up including some new exciting guests

5 Comments

  1. Be honest… how many would YOU have got right? 🧐
    👇 Drop your score in the comments — and let me know which rule caught you out!

  2. 7/10 – Think you were correct with your answer on Q9. 2 stroke penalty if you take relief on the line back to the tee outwith the bunker but you can take relief in the bunker with 1 stroke penalty as well.

  3. Q7, its about intent. If you are trying to hit the ball and miss, its an attempt at hitting the ball which is a stroke. If you aren't trying to hit the ball and knock it off the tee there was no intent to play and doesn't count as a shot and can be reteed. Was changed recently, I think not so long ago it would have counted as a shot 👍🏻

Write A Comment