Join this channel to get access to perks:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_GzvxPbX1UQBeFluD3OLQg/join
.
SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules
.
17.2
Options After Playing Ball from Penalty Area
a
When Ball Played from Penalty Area Comes to Rest in Same or Another Penalty Area
If a ball played from a penalty area comes to rest in the same penalty area or another penalty area, the player may play the ball as it lies (see Rule 17.1b).
Or, for one penalty stroke, the player may take relief under any of these options:
(1) Normal Relief Options. The player may take stroke-and-distance relief under Rule 17.1d(1), back-on-the-line relief under Rule 17.1d(2) or, for a red penalty area, lateral relief under Rule 17.1d(3).
Under Rule 17.1d(2) or (3), the estimated point used to determine the relief area is where the original ball last crossed the edge of the penalty area where the ball now lies.
If the player takes stroke-and-distance relief by dropping a ball in the penalty area (see Rule 14.6) and then decides not to play the dropped ball from where it comes to rest:
The player may take further relief outside the penalty area under Rules 17.1d(2) or (3) (for a red penalty area) or under Rule 17.2a(2).
If the player does so, he or she gets one more penalty stroke, for a total of two penalty strokes: one stroke for taking stroke-and-distance relief, and one stroke for taking relief outside the penalty area.
(2) Extra Relief Option: Playing from Where Last Stroke Made Outside a Penalty Area. Instead of using one of the normal relief options under (1), the player may choose to play the original ball or another ball from where he or she made the last stroke from outside a penalty area (see Rule 14.6).
.
GOLFRULES QUESTIONS MERCHANDISE
Get yourself a Roo&Coo polo: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/
.
DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION:
Email – golfrules.questions@gmail.com
WANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE?
Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.com
WANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCE
Head to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_questions/?hl=en)
OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITY
https://www.facebook.com/golfrulesquestions
LISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFY
Click here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questions
SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules
#GolfRules #GolfRulesQuestions #jinyoungko
1 Comment
Ouch! That could be me. It’s a great illustration of why even very skilled players should take penalty relief in impossible lies.