SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS for all your golf rules
Q.
During the 2017 Day 3 President’s Cup Four-ball Match of Jordan Spieth/Patrick Reed vs Jason Day/Louis Oosthuizen, Spieth stopped the ball of Oosthuizen while it was in motion. What is the outcome?
.
A.
Under the Rules of the game then (PRE-2019 – Rule 19-1 & 1-2), the opponent (Spieth) was disqualified from the hole – Spieth had a chance to make birdie to match Day, but because he was disqualified from the hole, this didn’t count. Spieth/Reed didn’t lose the hole, as Reed could have potentially won/halved it if he hadn’t already had too many strokes. So because Reed couldn’t match Day’s birdie, that side lost the hole.
.
THE RULES HAVE NOW CHANGED:
Rule 11.2a Exception:
Ball Deliberately Deflected or Stopped in Match Play When No Reasonable Chance It Can Be Holed: An opponent’s ball in motion that is deliberately deflected or stopped at any time when there is no reasonable chance it can be holed, and when does either as a concession or when the ball needed to be holed to tie the hole, is covered by Rule 3.2a(1) or 3.2b(1), not by this Rule.
.
.
.
.
Check out more videos on Youtube
And on Instagram @golfrules_questions
Golf Rules