SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS for all your golf rules
Q.
There are going to be times in stroke play, where you are just not sure what you are permitted to do. It happens to all of us. So what can you do when this happens?
.
A.
You are permitted to play two balls to complete the hole, but you must follow the requirements:
Announce you are playing two balls before you play either ball;
Announce which ball you want to count (if you don’t announce this, and they both count, then the first one a stroke was made at, is the one that counts, provided it was played under the Rules);
Finish the hole with both balls;
Tell the Committee what happened before you return your scorecard.

@girlfriendsguidetogolf
.
In match play, there is no option to play two balls, just sort the situation out with your opponent or make a claim.
.
.
Check out more videos on Youtube
And on Instagram @golfrules_questions
Golf Rules