SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS for all your golf rules
Q.
Henry has marked his ball on the putting green, and then moved his marker a club-head length to the side. This is to avoid Blakey’s line of play for his putt. Henry then forgets to reverse this process when replacing his ball, and ends up playing from the wrong spot. What is the ruling and what is Henry required to do?
.
A.
Henry incurs the general penalty for making a stroke at his ball not replaced on the correct spot. Because it was not a serious breach, Henry must then continue play with that ball (played from the wrong place).
BUT unfortunately Henry thinks that he needs to correct his first error, and takes his ball back to the correct spot. This is actually playing again from a wrong place, and Henry incurs another general penalty.
So a four stroke penalty in total, and a very important lesson for Henry.
Rule 14.7.
CHECK OUT MORE OF HENRY’S CREATIVE CONTENT ON THE @UNDERTHECARD YOUTUBE:
.
.
SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS for all your golf rules
Instagram:
Facebook:
Golf Rules