This is the golfing equivalent of A Tale of Two Cities. “It was the best of times. It was the worst of times”. OK, perhaps that’s one analogy too far.

But this email question has two different answers – depending on what you’ve done, or not done, with a humble ball marker.

“A player has marked and lifted his ball on the green. He then replaces his ball exactly where he marked it and lifts his marker. Subsequently, the ball rolls into the hole. What is the ruling?”

Is this a cause for unexpected celebration, or are the rules going to be a party pooper?

golf ball marker rule

Golf ball marker rule: What’s the answer?

If you accidentally move a ball on the green – let’s say that happens when you’re lifting the marker – then you put it back on its original spot or place a ball-marker on that spot. There’s no penalty.

If the ball was moved by natural forces, such as by gravity from the slope of the putting surface or wind, then having already marked the ball becomes the crucial part of the answer.

If a ball is lifted and replaced on the green, once it starts moving Rule 13.1d (2) says the ball must be “replaced on the spot it moved from” – even though you, your playing partners, or anyone else had nothing to do with it.

If you hadn’t been paying attention to where the ball had been replaced, don’t panic. Use your best guess and it will be fine.

Of course, this leads to the question: What if the ball had not been lifted and replaced? If natural forces then cause it to move – and assuming you’ve not given it a helping hand – then “the ball must be played from its new spot”.

Well, in this case it’s in the hole. So it counts.

Got a question for our expert?

Despite the changes to the Rules of Golf in 2019 and 2023, there are still some that leave us scratching our heads. I’ll try to help by featuring the best of your queries in this column.

What do you think of this golf ball marker rule? Let me you what you think, and send me your own rules questions, by emailing me at s.carroll@nationalclubgolfer.com or by leaving us a comment below, or on X.

Write A Comment