So can I take relief from the moose tracks in the bunker or do I have to play it as it lies?

by LeoOrHank

38 Comments

  1. I hit it off Frankensteins fat foot remember so you have to play it as lies Gilmore.

  2. nosbiglem999

    Where is the etiquette these days? Please rake your prints in the bunker everyone.

  3. ninefourtwo

    Is this a troll post? Animal holes not tracks are call for relief

    Any hole dug in the ground by an [**animal**](https://www.randa.org/rog/definitions?definitionsEdition=RulesOfGolf#animal), **except** for holes dug by [**animal**](https://www.randa.org/rog/definitions?definitionsEdition=RulesOfGolf#animal) that are also defined as [**loose impediments**](https://www.randa.org/rog/definitions?definitionsEdition=RulesOfGolf#loose_impediment) (such as worms or insects).The term ***animal hole*** includes:

    * The loose material the [**animal**](https://www.randa.org/rog/definitions?definitionsEdition=RulesOfGolf#animal) dug out of the hole, 
    * Any worn-down track or trail leading into the hole, and
    * Any area on the ground pushed up or altered as a result of the [**animal**](https://www.randa.org/rog/definitions?definitionsEdition=RulesOfGolf#animal) digging the hole underground.

    An ***animal hole*** does not include [**animal**](https://www.randa.org/rog/definitions?definitionsEdition=RulesOfGolf#animal) footprints that are not part of a worn-down track or trail leading into an ***animal hole***.

  4. WHSRWizard

    Technically you have to play it as it lies.

    And that moose is an asshole for not raking his footprints 

  5. foreverkasai

    You don’t get relief from footprints but also just lift and place it who cares

  6. Are you playing in a tournament? If not, move the ball. We’re not PGA pros here. Golf is supposed to be fun.

  7. Not technically, but I probably would…

    The rule says that you can take relief from an animal hole, like a burrow hole, and the debris from that hole being dug. Animal footprints…. again, not technically, no.

    Some courses where this is super common might have a local rule about this, so check the scorecard for those.

  8. Technical_Photo_6380

    Whose moose knuckles are those? Guy must be driving par 5s with a wedge!

  9. VonHinterhalt

    Not Rules of Golf but in real life we aren’t playing for a green jacket so move that shit.

  10. Has a moose ever been in a cave? If so, you could make the argument that you get relief from burrowing animals.

  11. Frosty-Age-6643

    What’s a more fun story? Giving yourself a drop and maybe making a better shot, or cock back and blast the ball out of that moose print and take what your god gives ya?

  12. SnooSnogs10

    Under the Rules of Golf, animal damage like holes, dugouts, and even dung is generally considered an abnormal course condition, entitling you to free relief under Rule 16. To take relief, find the nearest point of complete relief (no closer to the hole) where the damage no longer interferes with your stance or swing, then drop your ball within one club-length of that point, without penalty. For dangerous animal conditions, special relief options are available, and you should always check local rules.

    Relief for general animal damage
    Identify the condition: Animal holes (including loose soil and tracks) and extensive animal dung are usually considered abnormal course conditions and can be treated as Ground Under Repair (GUR

  13. ConsiderationBig2685

    If that was a tornament, wouldn’t those have been addressed by grounds crew prior to it being an issue? If so, then why should you be penalized for playing a recreational round.

  14. Lateral hazard, it’s gotta be in the rule book!

  15. kprice100

    Dude, are you still waiting for Reddit to tell you what to do? You are holding everyone up!

  16. teleheaddawgfan

    Kills me when moose don’t rake the traps.

  17. Jegagne88

    If you’re in a tournament then you play it as it lies, but if you’re just playing then do whatever the hell you want, I’d move it probably

  18. Without a Local rule there is no relief.

    If this is a common problem at the course they may want to use Model Locdl Rule F-13:

    Model Local Rule F-13
    “Damage that is caused by animal hoofs is ground under repair from which free relief is allowed under Rule 16.1.
    [But on the putting green, Rule 16.1 does not apply as such damage may be repaired under Rule 13.1.]
    Penalty for Playing Ball from a Wrong Place in Breach of Local Rule: General Penalty Under Rule 14.7a.”

  19. droid-man_walking

    For me, unless I made the foot print, lift, quick rake, replace, no penalty.

    In a tourney it might be different, but I would expect in a tourney to also not have these issues.

  20. Business_Door4860

    The course needs to send out a strongly worded letter about raking the bunker after you are in it.

  21. Time-Run5694

    Scum wildlife, never raking bunkers. They need to go back to where they came from.

  22. bigmix222

    INFO: are you playing in a tournament? If not, who gives a shit, move it.

  23. destin325

    Pros wouldnt take a drop because a pro in a tournament would never hit into a bunker that has an un-raked moose track. I’d say if the condition you’re in wouldn’t happen to a pro…then it’s a free drop/nudge.

    My local golf course has an untreated weeds problem that lays flat across the grass and smothers it. It acts like trying to hit a ball off of a fishing net. If there’s “grass” within 3-5’ laterally…I’m moving my ball over to grass and not counting it.

  24. Skippy8898

    Wait your turn. It’s the moose’s turn to hit and I wouldn’t advise pissing him off.

  25. Dapper_Ad6341

    You will never see moose, deer, human footprints or unraked bunkers on the PGA Tour. If my ball is in some mess left by someone/something ahead of me I repair the spot, or move the ball if it cannot be repaired. It is a lot easier to play by the rules on the PGA Tour. Life is too short.

  26. no_fooling

    Mate, youre not on the tour, play however you want.

Write A Comment