Marcel Siem Disqualified After Rules Blunder at BMW PGA Championship 😱⛳ | Full Breakdown
😱 Drama struck at the BMW PGA Championship as German golfer Marcel Siem was disqualified after a shocking rules blunder on his final hole at Wentworth! The 45-year-old thought his drive on the 18th had gone out of bounds, hit a provisional, and continued to play the wrong ball — only to realize after finishing the hole that he’d made a costly mistake.
In this video, we break down exactly what happened on the par-five 18th, why Siem was forced to DQ, and his emotional explanation on social media where he made it clear: “I didn’t cheat, it was just a lapse in concentration.” 🙌
After withdrawing from last week’s Irish Open due to injury, this adds another frustrating chapter to Siem’s season. But the German isn’t done yet — he’s set to return next week at the French Open 🇫🇷, determined to bounce back stronger.
👉 Watch until the end as we explain the rule behind Siem’s mistake, why even experienced players can fall foul of golf’s complicated rulebook, and what this means for his upcoming tournaments.
💬 What do YOU think? Was this an honest mistake anyone could make, or should seasoned pros know better? Share your thoughts in the comments!
👍 Don’t forget to LIKE, SUBSCRIBE 🔔, and SHARE this video to stay updated on the biggest golf stories and tournament drama.
#MarcelSiem #BMWPGAChampionship #GolfRules #GolfDrama #Wentworth #DPWorldTour #GolfNews
Marcel Sims week at the BMW PGA Championship ended in disappointment after he was disqualified following a rules mishap on his final hole at Wentworth. The German veteran found himself in trouble on the par 518th when his T-shot veered right. Believing his ball had gone out of balance, CM hit a provisional from a tea. In reality, his original shot had come to rest in a hazard, a detail he was unaware of at the time. Although a spectator later located his first ball, CM continued on with the provisional, treating it as his ball in play. He completed the hole with what he thought was a bogey six, only to quickly realize something wasn’t adding up. After alerting both his playing partners and a referee, the error was confirmed, resulting in his disqualification. Addressing the incident on social media, CM was keen to stress that there was no ill intent behind the mistake. I just wanted to let you know I didn’t cheat. I would never do that. So, I got disqualified unfortunately, he explained. He went on to recount the confusion in detail. On 18, I pushed my driver to the right, hit a provisional thinking it was out of bounds. I didn’t know there was a water hazard there. A spectator found my first ball under a branch. Unplayable. But instead of going back to the tea as I should have, I just kept going with my provisional. Made birdie with that second ball and ended with a bogey. Then in the scoring area, I realized something was wrong. I told the referee, “I think I made a mistake here, right? The disqualification capped a tough run for the 45year-old who had withdrawn from the Irish Open just a week earlier due to injury.” Despite the setback, CM is set to return to competition at next week’s French Open, determined to put the rules blunder behind him.
6 Comments
Sportsman indeed…
Great to see rules being respected, Best of Luck French Open .
Stupid ruling!
Sadly if he was aware the first ball was found and in play, he should have known, as a professional, that he had to play the first ball. He did call the second ball a provisionalon the tee. Had he not done that he would have been OK. It's a well known rule and has been around for ages.
Tbh, when I think my first is OB, I don‘t play a provis. I just play my 3rd from the Tee. Since I gave up my first ball, it doesn‘t matter wether it is found by someone or not. Correct me if I‘m wrong. The DQ is unnecessary.
Shouldn’t of won last year and won’t play out his exemption, he’s cooked 🤦♂️😂