During the final round of the 2025 U.S. Open, Sam Burns found himself in standing water on the 15th fairway—tied for the lead and battling for his first Major title. Despite torrential rain and a soaked course, officials denied him relief, forcing a difficult second shot from the water. Hear Burns’ classy reaction to the USGA’s controversial ruling. Was this the moment that cost him the championship?

#SamBurns #USOpen2025 #GolfRules #GolfControversy #PGATour #GolfDrama #MajorChampionships

sam Burns issued a classy response to being denied a drop for relief during the final round of the US Open torrential rain had caused disruption to the final round with play delayed for an hour and a half at the time Burns was in a four-way tie for the lead on one over by his T-shot had landed unfavorably just short of the rough on the par 4 and 20 yd from the pin the ball ended up in standing water on the 15th fairway however Burns was denied relief by two separate officials before being forced to take his second shot out of the water this US open rules controversy could have cost him his first major sam commented “At the end of the day it’s not up to me it’s up to rules.”

Write A Comment