Rickie Fowler gets last word on PGA Tour officials after making feelings on ruling clear
Welcome to Trending Sports24 Live, your ultimate destination for Trending Sports24 Live, sports coverage! We bring you the latest and most exciting updates from the world of sports, including real-time match scores, exclusive interviews, in-depth analysis, and behind-the-scenes action.
From thrilling cricket matches and intense football rivalries to the dynamic worlds of tennis, basketball, and more, Trending Sports24 Live covers it all! Our team of experts ensures you stay informed and entertained with fresh highlights, expert opinions, and insightful pre- and post-game analysis.
Whether you’re a passionate sports fan or a casual viewer, Trending Sports24 Live, is here to fuel your love for the game. Subscribe now and join our community to never miss a moment of the action!
Ricky Fowler has last words. After ruling dispute at Charles Schwab challenge, Ricky Fowler found himself in the middle of a lengthy rules dispute during the opening round of the Charles Schwab challenge at Colonial, but made sure to have the final say. Fowler fighting to regain form in a tough 2024 season, opened with a level pass 70 and followed up with a stellar 6 under 64 to sit T7 heading into the weekend. However, his first round wasn’t without drama. On the 14th hole, Fowler’s T-shot veered right, ending up in a tough spot between a cart path and an out-of-bounds barbed wire fence. With part of his stance on the cart path, Fowler requested relief, sparking an 8-minute conversation with two PGA Tour officials. The officials questioned whether Fowler would truly attempt the shot if the cart path weren’t there. Fowler insisted he would, citing limited options. “I’m going to take the shot right now just because the other options aren’t great,” he told them. Despite his argument, both officials denied relief, deeming the shot unreasonable without the cart path. Ultimately, Fowler backed down and pulled off an impressive shot over the trees and back in play. As he walked back to the fairway, he cooly quipped to the officials, “I didn’t touch the fence.” getting the last word. Tour rules official Rich Pearson later explained the ruling on PGA Tour Live, confirming that relief wasn’t allowed due to the ball being against an out-of-bounds fence and that both officials felt Fowler wouldn’t reasonably take the shot if the path wasn’t there. Despite the setback, Fowler remains in the Hunter Colonial and clearly he’s not backing down without a fight. Friends, what is your opinion about this? Share in the comments.
