SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS for all your golf rules.
Q.
The player’s club-head has detached itself during the stroke. What are the player’s options?
ANSWER ⬇️
.
.
.
.
.
.
A.
Under Rule 4.1a(2) the player may restore the club or have it repaired, but this must be done so with out delaying play.
.
Rule 4.1a(2):
For the rest of the round, the player may:
Continue to make strokes with the damaged club, or
Have the club repaired by restoring it as nearly as possible to its condition before the damage happened during the round or while play was stopped, while still using the original grip, shaft and clubhead. But in doing so:
The player must not unreasonably delay play (see Rule 5.6a), and
Any damage that existed before the round must not be repaired.
.
The club must not be replaced, UNLESS the Local Rule (8G-9) has been adopted, which means the club can be replaced.
(This Local Rule has been adopted in PGA Tour of Australasia events).
.
Model Local Rule G-9
“Rule 4.1b(3) is modified in this way:
If a player’s club is “broken or significantly damaged” during the round by the player or caddie, except in cases of abuse, the player may replace the club with any club under Rule 4.1b(4).
When replacing a club, the player must immediately take the broken or significantly damaged club out of play, using the procedure in Rule 4.1c(1).
Check out more videos on Youtube
And on Instagram @golfrules_questions
Golf Rules