SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS for all your golf rules
Q.
The player is warming up for the stroke behind the ball, and manages to hit a divot into their ball lying at rest on the fairway. Does the player incur a penalty?
.
A.
Yes, the player has caused their ball to move, and under Rule 9.4, they incur a penalty of one stroke and they must replace the ball. No exceptions apply in this case that would enable the player to avoid the penalty.
.
.
Check out more videos on Youtube
And on Instagram @golfrules_questions
Golf Rules