Johnson Wagner is joined by PGA Tour Senior Tournament Referee David Donnelly to discuss the ruling with Xander Schauffele on No. 8 during round 1 of the Wells Fargo Championship. #GolfChannel #PGATour #GolfCentral
» Subscribe to Golf Channel: https://www.youtube.com/golfchannel?sub_confirmation=1
» For the latest news around golf: https://www.nbcsports.com/golf

Welcome to Golf Channel’s official YouTube channel. We are the #1 destination for everything golf – 24/7. Find golf instruction tips, sneak peeks to our original series, news and tournament coverage. We are part of the NBC Sports Group.

Discover what else Golf Channel has to offer:
Live Coverage on Peacock: https://peacocktv.smart.link/v82e9dl56
Live Scores: http://bit.ly/GCScores
TV Schedule: https://www.nbcsports.com/watch/schedule
Instructional Tips: https://www.golfpass.com/learn
Golf Course Reviews: http://bit.ly/GCCourseReviews

Breaking down ruling with Xander Schauffele on No. 8 at Quail Hollow | Golf Central | Golf Channel
https://www.youtube.com/golfchannel?sub_confirmation=1

in round one on the eth and remember he blew this way right and we were digging through and we got about 25 seconds here digging in the coverage on how he was able to get a drop from the shotlink Tower and the cable when I see shots like this it’s you know one you think okay that’s kind of bad news but the good news is is that when stuff like this happens we get to send Johnson Wagner out to investigate like that’s As Good As It Gets in golf it’s like our stormchaser Johnson Wagner recreating what happened on the eth and why Xander was able to get some forist relief we’re here outside qua Hollow Club right to the right of the eighth green I’m with PJ tour rules official David Donley uh there was a lot made of the drop that Xander chafl took yesterday from here uh there’s a shotlink tower in his way and there’s been a lot of criticism and I’ve got the man who was here on the ruling uh David explain uh what what’s going on here with where Xander’s ball is well there’s a number of things going on here first of all we found the ball it’s inbounds the fence to the right is a boundary and when Xander called me in he wanted to know if he was able to get relief from this Tower up here he squatted down looked that way and said well I’ve got an easy pump shot I can easily get this up to the green if that’s not there and so I said yeah it’s I see the hole it’s easy to get you know that’s a that’s a legitimate shot it’s acceptable for the conditions he’s in obviously there’s a lot of things going on here but he has a window to be able to play the ball through this area and that was a very reasonable shot to take on and sitting here looking at it and we’ve got a ball down there I’ve got a four iron I’ve I’ve gotten in here and made a little bitty practice swing there is no doubt in my mind that I would hit this shot because we’re not in a penalty area his only other option would be an unplayable lie and clearly two club links isn’t going to do anything going back on line with the flag you’ve got the boundary fence so the only option is to go back to the te and so I think this is a totally justified shot and I’m going to show you how easy it was Xander chaet one of the best players in the world me have it warmed up and I’m going to get this thing out first tryck okay so before you do that I just want to make one clarification here that the camera can see the window he’s got to play through here yes if this ball is 5 6t to the left the ruling is completely different over here he’s got a shot that that every tour pro is going to take on and that level of skill is a lot greater than the general public so here he’s getting relief if his ball is 5 ft to the left and that tree is blocking him or he’s got to go through several other bushes to get to where he’s going to that’s an entirely different ruling that’s where it’s not reasonable to play through all that and expect to get relief right and and also the the ruling that took place so the this shaing tower has two guide wires and so the rule is you’ve got to get the ball where you with line a site with a temporary movable obstruction you get to the point where you can see the flag stick without the wire being in the way you get one Club link from there and you have to drop it in the second and so that’s what got Xander out of these holly bushes in the first place completely by the books exactly what do you think you think I got it David expect nothing left all right and so when I get in here I can freely make my stance so when I stand up if I break a twig that is not a penalty as long as you’re reasonably taking your stance you’re good can you tell me if I’m not reasonably taking my stance you’re doing good all right let’s go here it’s just a little chippy 4 iron it only has to travel 10 yards boom yes all right thank you very much

7 Comments

  1. I still think the drop was incorrect unless it was a PGAT rule.

    Rule 16.1 A (1) Meaning of Interference by Abnormal Course Condition. Interference exists when any one of these is true:
    The player’s ball touches or is in or on an abnormal course condition,
    An abnormal course condition physically interferes with the player’s area of intended stance or area of intended swing, or
    Only when the ball is on the putting green, an abnormal course condition on or off the putting green intervenes on the line of play.
    Xander’s ball, stance, or intended area of swing was not interfered with. Only the path to the hole. Secondly, the rules official gave Xander the nearest point of relief that in which the line of play is not interfered with plus one club length plus a drop inside the second club length. The rules of golf do not allow this.
    It gets really tiresome that the PGAT Officials gives the players unbelievable breaks that go beyond the rules of golf. FYI, GC covers for them as evidenced by this video in which the drop procedure Xander got was not hardly discussed.

  2. The problem is it’s annoying because we don’t have those towers in the way. It’s BS

  3. I really don’t like Xander Schauffele he’s such a diva on the course. Always crying to some rules official cuz he can’t keep his driver down the center of the fairway

  4. Nice try, but the original ball was next to the fence. How many drops did Xander take?

  5. please explain from the BEGINNING!

    His original ball was next to the fence. Was he in a penalty area? Is he entitled to free relief from the fence in a penalty area?
    You can see another ball that was about 2 club length from the original ball. Looked like he got the relief. Isn't a relief 1 club length and not 2? This is total BS. Cheater never win!

Write A Comment