Can your caddie or partner line you up on the putting green? The answer is yes, they can line you up, but they cannot stand in the “restricted area” which is on the backwards extension of your line, when you begin to take your stance.

Rule 10.2b(4) doesn’t just apply on the putting green, it applies everywhere on the course.

The exception to this would be in a scramble format (because a scramble isn’t actually in the rules of golf) and it’s part of the procedures we all use to check out the line and help each person on our scramble team.

Marcela Smith teaches the rules of golf at golf courses across the united states. Learn more at www.GirlfriendsGuideToGolf.com

Grab your copy of the Golf Rules Quick Reference to use while you’re on the course!

GG Merchandise

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/girlfriendsguidetogolf/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/girlfriendsguidetogolf/

10.2 before besides Brandon there’s this restricted area back here that changed in 2019 that if my partner or my caddy is here to help me line up it’s a penalty now two stroke penalty and stroke play loss of whole of match pay but let’s not get it confused from a scramble because

One of your ladies Tournaments has a scramble and often you play scrambles in a scramble we’re all going to sit here and check out you know what our what our line is we’re going to watch each other’s putt we’re going to put a marker down we’re all standing back here

Talking about we’re all sitting here behind scramble is not in the rules of golf and scramble you’re allowed to do that on the tea area anywhere in the Fairway whatever you’re all allowed to do that you will do it on a scramble and it’s fine not allowed in any other

Format if one sec so you’re not allowed to stand in this restricted area which is behind backwards extension when this player your partner or the the caddy begins to take their stance which means one foot in position so they get ready to begin to take their stance if

He’s there and you execute that’s a two-stroke penalty or loss of Hole In match play but if you realize it once you’ve done it he backs away you back away you’re fine question

Write A Comment