Lee Hodges had to wait what seemed like a lifetime for this one to drop during Round 3 of the 2023 PGA Championship.
Subscribe now: https://bit.ly/PGAChampionshipYT
Contested each May, the PGA Championship is the second major championship in golf’s annual rotation, and perennially features the strongest field in the men’s game based on the Official World Golf Rankings. Known for dramatic finishes and notable champions, the Wanamaker Trophy—which has been awarded to the winner since 1916—is inscribed with names such as McIlroy, Woods, Nicklaus, and Player. The 2023 PGA Championship is set to take place between May 18–21 at Oak Hill Country Club. The reigning champion is Justin Thomas.
Website: https://pgachampionship.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pgachampionship
Twitter: https://twitter.com/pgachampionship
Instagram: https://instagram.com/pgachampionship/
21 Comments
That’s more than 10 seconds.. that’s not a made shot..
one more rain … drop
cup cutting at it's finest
This is an all-time piece of Golf media, kudos to that camera guy.
I would shoot 3 strokes better if my course cut the holes this well
Timed it: 30 secs!
So the PGA of America posts this clip GLORIFYING the situation then decides to penalize the guy. Change the damn rule. Every golfer is told not to hit a ball that’s moving. It’s a bad rule if you then penalize a guy for NOT hitting a moving ball. Be better PGA
"Fine him for slow-play." -PGA Rules Official
That dropped because everyone waited for the earth to rotate a bit more.
BRYSON & Brooks battle, they should Televise EVERY SECOND
thanks rain.
Da da dada dada da da da “BIRDIE”
Not the longest I've seen. I once hit an 8 iron on a par 3 from 145 yards. I knew it was a good shot. Drove up to green in my cart, grabbed my putter walked onto green and saw my leaner fall in for an ace. True story. I was about 15 ft away from the hole when it fell.
Bussin yo
doesn't count.. 10sec after the ball stops is all you get
I love this, but does this count? I thought the rule was that after it basically stops, you have a reasonable amount of time to get to the hole, and then 10 more seconds. It stops at 0:06, and falls in the hole at 0:40, which means we're giving him 24 seconds to walk like 10 feet. If I have the rule right, and that's a big if… does it count? edit: heard it was disallowed seems like the right decision to this rules amateur.
Sometimes even when you make the putt they force you to count 2 strokes, golf is hard!
think the key here is that the ball never actually stopped .. was always in motion albeit slow .. Jordan Spieth even commented .. should be NO penalty here imo
if you stomped on the ground to cause tremor to cause the ball to fall in, is that illegal?
Stupid rule. No way he should be penalized if it actually goes in.
If the PGA penalized this guy after like some commenters are saying, shame on them. There's a difference between time wasting and legitimately waiting a little for the ball to go in. Even though the rules say it should have been penalized, the Pga should have used their discretion!