SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH
Q.
Can the player play the ball off the outside influence?
.
.
A.
No, the player would incur a general penalty.
.
When a referee is wrong, the player has the option of asking the referee to get a second opinion, but that option is purely at the decision of the referee. In this case, the tournament director is the person giving the wrong ruling.
.
What should have happened?
The player must place a marker beside the outside agency’s foot, then lift the ball, have the outside influence move away, then DROP the ball within one club-length of the spot directly below where it came to rest, no nearer the hole.
RESULT/PENALTY:
The player should have incurred a penalty of two strokes, however because the referee gave the player the wrong ruling, the player incurs no penalty. It should be made known that Doug is wrong in his interpretation of the Rule. Shooter McGavin’s only options were to take free relief, or penalty relief.
RULE 11.1.
.
.
.
Check out more videos on Instagram @golfrules_questions

18 Comments

  1. I read that if the ball goes out of bounds, it needs to be played from as close as possible to where it was last played. In Shooter's case, since the ball landed on the guy's foot, that would likely count as out of bounds.

  2. LOLOL!! "Excuse me, I just gotta get through, I'm looking for my ball, this is golf; k? Excuse me, thank you. Thank you." AAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA "This is golf."

Write A Comment