When Astros batter Chas McCormick struck out with R1 Yuli Gurriel attempting to steal second base, his bat appeared to make contact with Blue Jays catcher Reese McGuire at home plate. Was this interference? Article:

HP Umpire Chris Conroy ruled McCormick out on the foul tip for strike three (it was a 3-2 count) and 2B Umpire Pat Hoberg ruled Gurriel safe on the stolen base at second. After Replay Review, Hoberg’s safe call was confirmed.

Official Baseball Rule 6.03(a)(3) states a batter is out for illegal action when they interfere with the catcher’s play at home base (e.g., throwing to second base to retire a runner), and OBR 6.01(a)(5) adds that if retired batter (such as a batter that just struck out) hinders or impedes a following play on a runner, such runner is out for the interference of the retired batter.

OBR 6.03(a)(3) Comment states that when a batter swings and misses so hard that the bat ends up behind their back and contacts the catcher, unintentionally, that backswing contact shall be called a strike only (not interference). The ball will be dead, however, and no runner shall advance on the play.

Backswings, however, have to end at a certain point, and recoiling the bat in front of one’s body seems like it shouldn’t be part of what is considered a backswing.