SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS for all your golf rules
Q.
Player A (pink shirt) moved the tee markers because they thought that the hole should be shorter. Player B (black shirt), then tees their ball up outside the original teeing area. Do either of the players incur a penalty?
.
.
A.
Yes, player A incurs a general penalty (two strokes in stroke play) for moving a tee-marker(s) to improve their conditions affecting the stroke, however because they deliberately did this to change the setup of the course, the Committee may choose to disqualify the player for serious misconduct contrary to the spirit of the game (Rule 1.2a).
.
Player B incurs no penalty for teeing their ball outside the teeing area of the hole they are starting, but they would incur the general penalty in stroke play if they do make a stroke outside the teeing area, and then would have to correct their error.
What player B should be doing is telling player A not to move the tee markers, and leaving their ball where they had first teed their ball.
Rule 6.2.
.
.
Check out more videos on Youtube
And on Instagram @golfrules_questions
Golf Rules