SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS for all your golf rules
Q.
Tiger’s ball crossed the Yellow Penalty Area, and rolled back into the penalty area, how come Tiger didn’t choose to drop his ball on the green-side of the penalty area?
.
.
A.
Because the creek in front of the 12th hole at Augusta is a Yellow Penalty Area, the player has the following options:
Go back to where they last played from (we see Tiger do this after his shot from the bunker)
Stroke and Distance – going back to where they last played from ;

Drop a ball within one club-length of a spot on a line from the flag, through where the ball last crossed the penalty area. The player can choose any point on this line behind the penalty area, as far back as they want, as long as it is in bounds, and not in the same penalty area.
Back on the Line – from the point where the ball last crossed into the penalty area, working out a straight line back from the flag behind that spot, the player may drop their ball for a penalty of one stroke, ;

They don’t have the option of a Lateral Relief drop within two club-lengths of where the ball last crossed into the penalty area, that option is for Red Penalty Areas only.
Lateral Relief (available only from Red Penalty Areas – dropping within two club-lengths of the last edge crossed into the penalty area for a penalty of one stroke.
.
.
SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS for all your golf rules
.
– Podcast
– Instagram:
– Facebook:
Golf Rules