SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS for all your golf rules
Q.
When Jason Kokrak hit his second shot at the 15th hole during round 1 of the 2020 Masters Tournament, it nearly hit Lee Westwood, then it went into the water. What are his options?
.
.
A.
The player has the following options under Rule 17.1:
Stroke and Distance – going back to where they last played from
Back on the Line – from the point where the ball last crossed into the penalty area, working out a straight line back from the flag behind that spot, the player may drop their ball for a penalty of one stroke (this is the option Phil chose).
Lateral Relief (available only from Red Penalty Areas – dropping within two club-lengths of the last edge crossed into the penalty area for a penalty of one stroke.
.
.
SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS for all your golf rules
.
– Podcast
– Instagram:
– Facebook:
Golf Rules