SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS for all your golf rules
Q.
When grounding their club behind the ball in the general area, the player looks to push their club into the ground a little too hard. Is this permitted?
.
A.
Under Interpretation 8.1b/1,
‘Rule 8.1b allows a player to ground the club lightly directly in front of or behind the ball, even if that improves his or her lie or area of intended swing.
“Ground the club lightly” means allowing the weight of the club to be supported by the grass, soil, sand or other material on or above the ground surface.
But the player gets the penalty under Rule 8.1a if he or she improves the lie or area of intended swing by pressing the club down more than lightly.’
It is important to understand that even if a player grounds their club more than lightly, there also needs to be an improvement of the conditions for the player to incur a penalty.
.
.
SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS for all your golf rules
.
– Podcast
– Instagram:
– Facebook:
Golf Rules