Accidentally hitting yourself or opponent with your golf shot is really embarrassing, but thanks to this new rule change, it’s no longer a penalty.
According to the USGA, for all accidental deflections, including when the ball hits the player or opponent or their equipment or caddies, there will be no penalty and the ball will be played as it lies (with limited exceptions).
To address any concern that a player might deliberately position equipment to act as a backstop and potentially deflect his or her ball, there will be a penalty if the ball hits equipment that was positioned for that purpose (Rule 11.2a).
Subscribe for more golf tips from SwingU’s top-rated Master Faculty
► Become a FREE SUBSCRIBER to SWINGU on YOUTUBE
———————————————————————————–
► SwingU’s Links:
App:
Facebook:
Twitter:
Instagram:
Web:
Clubhouse:
Newsletter:
———————————————————————————–