QA 8: Disc Knocked out of Tree
Q:
My disc was stuck in a tree well above two meters (with the two-meter rule in effect), when another player’s throw knocked it to the ground. Where is my lie, and am I subject to a two-meter penalty throw?
A:
The disc is played relative to where it first came to rest. Since that was clearly above two meters, you are subject to a penalty throw just as if the disc had stayed in the tree. As for the player whose throw knocked your disc down, the interference rule does not apply to a competitively thrown disc.
Applicable Rules:
804.03 Interference
802.02 Establishing Position
806.01 Two-meter Rule.