SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS for all your golf rules
Q.
After hitting his ball into a penalty area, Rickie Fowler opted to take lateral relief under Rule 17.1d. He dropped his ball into his relief area, but it rolled back into the penalty area. He re-dropped and it did the same thing. He then placed the ball on the spot that the ball first hit the ground inside the relief area. While Rickie was surveying his upcoming stroke, his ball rolled back into the penalty area. What is the ruling?
.
.
A.
The ball was back in play when Rickie placed it on the correct spot. Natural forces (gravity, wind, water) then caused the ball to roll into the penalty area. Rickie could either play the ball as it lies in the penalty area (an almost impossible shot) or take penalty relief again, which is what he choose to do. Sometimes golf can be unfair, but it is up to the player to choose which option suits them best, and has the least risk of incurring further penalties.
Rule 17.1d & Rule 9.3.
.
.
SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS for all your golf rules
Instagram:
Facebook:
Golf Rules