SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS for all your golf rules
Q.
Phil Mickelson tries to swing right-handed with a left-handed club, and ends up hitting his ball and an abandoned ball in the process, what is the ruling?
.
A.
As Phil’s intended stroke was at his ball, he is not considered to have hit a wrong ball. The abandoned ball is considered a movable obstruction, for which there is no penalty for moving it during the player’s stroke. If he had seen it prior to his stroke, he could have moved it without fear of penalty for moving his own ball, as per Rule 15.2.
Definitions ‘Movable Obstruction’ and Rule 6.3
In the video, Phil’s ball ricochets and hits his body, which was a penalty of one stroke before 1 Jam 2019. But since then, as it happened accidentally, it is no longer a penalty, and the player is to play the ball as it lies.
.
.
SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS for all your golf rules
Instagram:
Facebook:
Golf Rules