SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS for all your golf rules
Q.
Why did Phil get to drop on the right hand side of the path, when clearer his nearest point of relief solely from the path was on the left-side?
.
A.
As the Committee had used their discretion to tie in the cart path (immovable obstruction) to a piece of ground that they saw as unfair for a player to have to play from, the whole area was seen as one ‘abnormal course condition’.
Therefore, the line on the left-hand side is the edge of one side of the condition, and the edge of the path is the other side.
Phil’s NPR from the whole condition is therefore on the right-hand side.
Rule 16.1

Is it permissible for the Committee to tie in an area of ground that is deemed as a bit ordinary, to a cart path, making the whole obstruction one abnormal course condition?

Yes, a Committee has such power to setup the course with such authorised Local Rules.
.
.
SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS for all your golf rules
Instagram:
Facebook:
Golf Rules