Never before seen, Brian Harmon starred in one of the rarest situations you’ll see in golf. He hit three shots from the tea and still saved Bogey. I’ll explain this curious rules episode to you. On hole one, a very narrow par five, Harmon opened with a drive that went straight into the jungle. He decided to play a provisional, but the result was just as bad. Also into the woods. Upon reaching the area, they found both balls within the course, but neither was playable. And here comes the interesting part. According to rules 88.3C and its exception upon finding the original ball, even if it’s unplayable, the provisional is automatically discard as it only applies if the original is lost or out of bounds, meaning only the penalty for the original ball counts. Harmon took relief for stroke and distance. He returned to the tea and hit his third shot with only one penalty. This time he put it in the fairway. Good approach, a solid put, and bogey saved. Luck and the rules were on his side. What did you think of the episode? Has anything similar happened to you in your rounds? Let me know in the comments.

1 Comment

Write A Comment