Slam dunk shot straight in. The ball is wedged into the side of the cup but embedded so didn’t fall to the bottom of the hole. Team mates all said hole in one but what do you think?
Depends on whether it’s leaning against the flagstick
Sublimer840
Unfortunately, the entire ball must be below the surface of the putting green for it to count.
Cosmicfool13
Is it in the hole?
nopal_blanco
Did you take this photo with an etch-a-sketch?
Anyway, congrats on the HIO.
YukonCornelius69
Yall know there’s rules to golf? Not just whatever you think the vibe is.
Not a hole in one. Not submerged beneath the putting surface
soothsayer2000
More than half the ball was below the putting service in the hole
riftastic76
Chat GPT said it’s not and pulled up the USGA rules, but I’m counting it as one lol
Xmalantix
I think technically it’s not. If *any* part of the ball is below the surface AND touching the flagstick, it’s considered holed. However, if it’s embedded the *entire* ball must be below the surface.
Congrats! Now treat yourself to some new golf shoes!
therealsix
Officially not a hole in one. I have had the same, looked it up, it’s not unless the ball is completely under the ground. Good shot though.
NutmegManwithbigsack
Nope
flyin-lowe
I am just getting back into golf after 20 plus years of not playing. I am sure things have changed but when I played in high school the ball had to go into the cup. For example if the ball was wedged against the flag stick and did not drop down, you had to pull the stick in a way that the ball fell into the cup. If you pulled the flag stick out and the ball came out with it you still had to put it. If you picked the ball up before it hit the bottom of the cup it was no good.
bionicbhangra
For the its not a hole in one people what is he supposed to do? Is he supposed to take the ball out, fix the mark and then put it down on the edge where it will promptly fall into the cup?
Does he give himself a birdie then, a penalty or go straight to jail?
Based on this definition, that doesn’t look like it’s holed as it doesn’t appear to be fully embedded below the surface of the green.
Omisco420
Not a HIO per the rules. Sorry meng
ButterscotchObvious4
It’s not a hio, unfortunately. The entire ball needs to below the surface.
However, this screams of shitpost based on the quality of the photo.
Prestigious_Trick718
Nice birdie
Cautious_Jicama_5610
If you’re out with your buddies, it’s an ace. If you’re playing an event, not an ace. Based on the info given, the rules are pretty clear.
DhamR
That doesn’t look “embedded” it’s pinched between turf and flagstick, so that’s a HIO.
If it’s embedded and not touching the flagstick, its a two, but the best shot you’ll hit all year.
1004stingersonly
By the letter of the law, if any part of the ball is above the hole it is not considered holed. You are supposed to lift the ball, fix the divot, and place the ball basically on the edge of the cup. I disagree with this rule and would count it as a hole but rules of golf state this is just a really easy birdie with a great story.
GoodOldBoys
According to the rules it’s not a HIO but I think the rule is dumb and they should change it
SpreadElectronic1232
It’s a hole-in-one. Time for a lager and stogie.
EBDBandBnD
If it’s touching the stick HIO. If not, gotta place it and putt it.
If it wasn’t completely below the surface of the green, it’s not a hole-in-one. I don’t like the rule, but that’s what it is.
They show the definitions and rules used fast, but you can look them up after or pause.
SOUPER_Juicy
Yall are just haters
That’s a hole in one

NoCardiologist4594
It’s definitely a hole in one but I’d tap the flag stick so the ball falls into the hole before I pick it up
giantdick69
Under USGA Rule 13.2c, if a ball rests against the flagstick and any part is below the surface of the hole, it’s holed. If not, even if it’s hanging over, it doesn’t count.
Even_Section5620
Congratulations king, anyone who says no is just jealous
Double_Question_5117
I have done this…. Sorry, it’s not a HIO
corziv
You arent playing on Tour, so USGA rules be damned. Its a HIO, buy a beer for your buddies and celebrate it
34 Comments
Nice birdie
Hole in one
100% hole in one
Depends on whether it’s leaning against the flagstick
Unfortunately, the entire ball must be below the surface of the putting green for it to count.
Is it in the hole?
Did you take this photo with an etch-a-sketch?
Anyway, congrats on the HIO.
Yall know there’s rules to golf? Not just whatever you think the vibe is.
Not a hole in one. Not submerged beneath the putting surface
More than half the ball was below the putting service in the hole
Chat GPT said it’s not and pulled up the USGA rules, but I’m counting it as one lol
I think technically it’s not. If *any* part of the ball is below the surface AND touching the flagstick, it’s considered holed. However, if it’s embedded the *entire* ball must be below the surface.
Hard to tell exactly from the photo, but to me it technically looks like it is not holed. This is a quick summary of the definition/rule from a golf.com [article](https://golf.com/instruction/rules/embedded-ball-hole-one-investigation-2/?srsltid=AfmBOopScySY0qk4bmyjLD2zrNkaJyDXApFEkJ226v083_kX-klxsXNm)
https://preview.redd.it/md5u9nbtm1zf1.jpeg?width=1080&format=pjpg&auto=webp&s=cab62342a38fbfdee6c80fb4e275b127ae9e4e4c
It’s obviously a whole in one!!!
Congrats! Now treat yourself to some new golf shoes!
Officially not a hole in one. I have had the same, looked it up, it’s not unless the ball is completely under the ground. Good shot though.
Nope
I am just getting back into golf after 20 plus years of not playing. I am sure things have changed but when I played in high school the ball had to go into the cup. For example if the ball was wedged against the flag stick and did not drop down, you had to pull the stick in a way that the ball fell into the cup. If you pulled the flag stick out and the ball came out with it you still had to put it. If you picked the ball up before it hit the bottom of the cup it was no good.
For the its not a hole in one people what is he supposed to do? Is he supposed to take the ball out, fix the mark and then put it down on the edge where it will promptly fall into the cup?
Does he give himself a birdie then, a penalty or go straight to jail?
https://www.randa.org/rog/definitions#holed_1
Based on this definition, that doesn’t look like it’s holed as it doesn’t appear to be fully embedded below the surface of the green.
Not a HIO per the rules. Sorry meng
It’s not a hio, unfortunately. The entire ball needs to below the surface.
However, this screams of shitpost based on the quality of the photo.
Nice birdie
If you’re out with your buddies, it’s an ace. If you’re playing an event, not an ace. Based on the info given, the rules are pretty clear.
That doesn’t look “embedded” it’s pinched between turf and flagstick, so that’s a HIO.
If it’s embedded and not touching the flagstick, its a two, but the best shot you’ll hit all year.
By the letter of the law, if any part of the ball is above the hole it is not considered holed. You are supposed to lift the ball, fix the divot, and place the ball basically on the edge of the cup. I disagree with this rule and would count it as a hole but rules of golf state this is just a really easy birdie with a great story.
According to the rules it’s not a HIO but I think the rule is dumb and they should change it
It’s a hole-in-one. Time for a lager and stogie.
If it’s touching the stick HIO. If not, gotta place it and putt it.
Time to upgrade the phone from the RAZR
Here you go!
Straight from the USGA
https://youtube.com/shorts/QklvoVpoVjk?si=v1TYzd8o1UxCXL97
If it wasn’t completely below the surface of the green, it’s not a hole-in-one. I don’t like the rule, but that’s what it is.
They show the definitions and rules used fast, but you can look them up after or pause.
Yall are just haters
That’s a hole in one

It’s definitely a hole in one but I’d tap the flag stick so the ball falls into the hole before I pick it up
Under USGA Rule 13.2c, if a ball rests against the flagstick and any part is below the surface of the hole, it’s holed. If not, even if it’s hanging over, it doesn’t count.
Congratulations king, anyone who says no is just jealous
I have done this…. Sorry, it’s not a HIO
You arent playing on Tour, so USGA rules be damned. Its a HIO, buy a beer for your buddies and celebrate it