What is the RULING on this CONTROVERSIAL golf mis hap?

I just said, “Hey guys, John Gillis Golf Instruction here. What do you think happens here?” So, he takes a divot, hits the ball, and moves it. What’s the penalty? Play it where it lies. Move it back. No penalty. Move it back with the penalty. Let me know down in the comments what you think the ruling

22 Comments

  1. Clearly he has no respect for the course or the game!! BIND HIS HANDS! LEAD HIM AWAY TO BE DRAWN AND QUARTERED!

  2. If the ruling is no penalty I’m going to start practice swinging with my 9 iron on the green

  3. Depends on what year this was.

    If 2018 or earlier, it’s a 1 stroke penalty, and the ball is replaced in its original spot.

    If 2019 or later, a ball struck without intent is not counted as a stroke. The ball must be replaced in its original spot. No penalty. Failure to replace the ball an hitting it is a two stroke penalty.

  4. 1 stroke penalty and replace the ball.
    The ‘19 rule change was for accidental contact on the tee box. This appears to be in the general area.

Write A Comment