2019 Golf Rule
The USGA and The R&A issued two Clarifications on Rule 10.2b(4) on February 6, 2019, in addition to 1 Clarification to Interpretation 10.2b(4)/1.
The purpose of Rule 10.2 is to reinforce the fundamental challenge of making a stroke and to limit the advice and other help a player may receive during a round.
The two Clarifications on Rule 10.2b(4) are summarized as follows:
* Meaning of “Begins Taking a Stance for the Stroke”: If a player backs away from a stance, the player is not considered to have begun” a stance for the stroke”. Therefore, a player can now back away from his or her stance anywhere on the course and avoid a breach of Rule 10.2b(4) if the caddie had been standing in a location behind the ball.
* Examples of When a Caddie is Not “Deliberately” Standing Behind the Ball When a Player Begins Taking Stance for Stroke: As written, the Rule does not apply if a caddie is not deliberately standing behind a player. It is clarified that the term “deliberately” requires a caddie to be aware that 1) the player is beginning to take a stance for the stroke to be played and 2) he or she (the caddie) is standing on or close to an extension of the line of play behind the ball. Several examples are given in the clarification to provide additional guidance.

Click below for the complete language on clarifications:

Featuring KC Leonard @kcleonardgolf

I launched Girlfriends Guide To Golf and my On-Course Rules Experiences to help grow the game and help women feel more confident about learning the rules and etiquette of golf.

Pop over to www.GirlfriendsGuideToGolf.com to watch my short rules videos, see golf styles and watch some swing tips from the pros!