On Saturday, I got the closest I, and maybe anyone else, will get to officially getting their first hole-in-one!
This was at Silloth-on-Solway Golf club, beautiful course in the north west of England.
But, there was plenty of debate in the clubhouse afterwards, should this be classed as a hole-in-one or not?
I did mark it, repair the divot, was able to place it without it falling in the hole and then tap it in for a boge… Birdie obviously 😅. But others believed that this should be classed as one. What's everyone's else's thoughts?

by jacoborpe

44 Comments

  1. Idk but my divot repair might have had a little hole friendly lean to it before i placed it lol.

  2. That’s 100 per cent not a hole in one. But it should be, in my view. Cruel rule.

  3. Massive_Look8179

    If we were playing i would give it to ya.

  4. Hurricrash

    That’s brutal. My sincerest condolences to you.

  5. Chrisnm203

    This same thing happened at my local the other day. I didn’t see it happen, but I saw the ball mark that was left there.

  6. HebrewHammer0033

    Call it whatever you want but what is not arguable is that is an AMAZING shot and may be more memorable than an actual HIO. At least we live in an era that allowed you to document it for future story telling!

  7. sliever48

    Mark the ball, pick it up, put it back, it falls in. Is that a hole in one?

  8. Ezekills19

    It’s a 1 Leave it long enough and it will fall to bottom

  9. Buttermaker83

    I ref hockey, and have seen video of the puck breaking in half. One half in the net, one half out. No goal….whole puck has to cross whole line. This kinda feels the same.

  10. Oilraider

    Amazing shot, shitty result. Story of the last 35 years of my life golfing. That will be one of the best stories you can tell tho.

  11. BlackStarCorona

    90% of the people I golf with it’s in. One guy, a degenerate gambler who won’t shut the F up? No george, you’re putting that in for a stroke.

  12. Golfball_whacker_guy

    Situation
    Your ball ends up embedded just on the lip of the hole, partially below the surface but not fully holed.

    You mark the ball, repair the pitch mark (which is allowed under Rule 13.1c(2) — repair damage on the green), and then replace the ball. After you put it back, the ball falls into the hole on its own.

    Applicable Rule

    Rule 14.2e — What Happens if Ball Does Not Stay on Spot Where It Is Replaced:
    If a ball placed on the putting green does not stay at rest on the spot where it was replaced, the player must try again.

    If it still won’t stay at rest, you place it at the nearest spot (no closer to the hole) where it will remain at rest.

    Rule 13.3a — Ball Overhanging the Hole:
    If any part of the ball is overhanging the hole, you are allowed 10 seconds to see if it drops in. If it falls in after that time, it’s in the hole with an extra stroke added.

  13. Expensive-Surround33

    I mean they just wanted free drinks. If I was there I would have to. But yeah HOI.

  14. this_place_stinks

    You’re supposed to log that one as a 1.5 on the scorecard

  15. Silver-Sir398

    I don’t think I’m counting it because a lot of the ball seems to be above, but hitting that in the air has to be more difficult than rolling it in. My closest so far plugged about a foot to the right of the hole. I feel like we all only get a handful of close calls and have to hope one of them drops.

  16. darkstar107

    On the bright side, should be an easy 2-putt for par!

  17. Waiting for the inevitable TikTok that explains that under USGA rule 1476.28c that if a ball falls in the hole after marking properly you can count it without taking a stroke AND award yourself minus 2 on the next hole for good measure.

Write A Comment