🚨 Controversy at the U.S. Open! Sam Burns was DENIED free relief from standing water during the final round at Oakmont — and it may have cost him the title. 😱 The 54-hole leader’s hopes slipped away on the 15th hole after a rules decision that’s now being called into question by former PGA Champion Rich Beem and golf fans across the world. Should the USGA rethink the rule? 🤔
Watch the full breakdown of the incident, the rule explanation, Burns’ reaction, and why this moment could lead to major changes in professional golf. ⛳
📺 Don’t forget to LIKE, COMMENT your thoughts on the ruling, and SUBSCRIBE for more golf drama, rules controversies, and PGA Tour insights!
a controversial ruling during Sunday’s final round of the US Open has reignited debate over one of golf’s more contentious rules sam Burns who led the field after 54 holes at Oakmont saw his hopes of capturing a major title unravel at the par 415th after a frustrating incident involving standing water on the fairway following a weather delay Burns returned to find his te-shot sitting in a wet patch hoping for relief from the soggy conditions he called in a rules official but was denied a free drop forced to play the ball as it lay Burn’s approach shot ended up in the rough and he went on to card a double bogey surrendering his lead to Adam Scott the decision quickly drew criticism including from members of the Sky Sports broadcast team who agreed on air that Burns had every right to request relief one of them former PGA champion Rich Beam later took to social media to question the rules application question: If a lefty had a stand where a Burns golf ball was as their ball would be in the fairway would they have gotten relief at USGA being posted on X formerly Twitter maybe rethink that rule burns himself was visibly frustrated in the moment muttering that’s ridiculous to his caddy after striking the ball from the puddle a video shared by golf analyst Kyle Porter showed the soaked patch of turf sparking even more online discussion over the decision under the current rule relief from casual water is only granted when an accumulation of water remains present either before or after the stance is taken it further states that it’s not sufficient for the ground to be merely wet muddy or momentarily water logged underfoot after his round Burns adopted a more composed tone when discussing the call i called a rules official over they disagreed he explained i looked at it again and thought maybe I should get a second opinion that rules official also disagreed at the end of the day it’s not up to me it’s up to the rules official that’s kind of that despite the disappointment Burns won’t have to wait long to rebound he’s set to tee it up again this week at the Travelers Championship the final signature event of the PGA Tour season
🚨 Controversy at the U.S. Open! Sam Burns was DENIED free relief from standing water during the final round at Oakmont — and it may have cost him the title. 😱 The 54-hole leader’s hopes slipped away on the 15th hole after a rules decision that’s now being called into question by former PGA Champion Rich Beem and golf fans across the world. Should the USGA rethink the rule? 🤔
Watch the full breakdown of the incident, the rule explanation, Burns’ reaction, and why this moment could lead to major changes in professional golf. ⛳
📺 Don’t forget to LIKE, COMMENT your thoughts on the ruling, and SUBSCRIBE for more golf drama, rules controversies, and PGA Tour insights!
#SamBurns #USOpen2025 #GolfRules #PGATour #GolfControversy #RichBeem #StandingWaterRelief #USGA #GolfDebate #TravelersChampionship #GolfNews #GolfDrama #MajorChampionship
a controversial ruling during Sunday’s final round of the US Open has reignited debate over one of golf’s more contentious rules sam Burns who led the field after 54 holes at Oakmont saw his hopes of capturing a major title unravel at the par 415th after a frustrating incident involving standing water on the fairway following a weather delay Burns returned to find his te-shot sitting in a wet patch hoping for relief from the soggy conditions he called in a rules official but was denied a free drop forced to play the ball as it lay Burn’s approach shot ended up in the rough and he went on to card a double bogey surrendering his lead to Adam Scott the decision quickly drew criticism including from members of the Sky Sports broadcast team who agreed on air that Burns had every right to request relief one of them former PGA champion Rich Beam later took to social media to question the rules application question: If a lefty had a stand where a Burns golf ball was as their ball would be in the fairway would they have gotten relief at USGA being posted on X formerly Twitter maybe rethink that rule burns himself was visibly frustrated in the moment muttering that’s ridiculous to his caddy after striking the ball from the puddle a video shared by golf analyst Kyle Porter showed the soaked patch of turf sparking even more online discussion over the decision under the current rule relief from casual water is only granted when an accumulation of water remains present either before or after the stance is taken it further states that it’s not sufficient for the ground to be merely wet muddy or momentarily water logged underfoot after his round Burns adopted a more composed tone when discussing the call i called a rules official over they disagreed he explained i looked at it again and thought maybe I should get a second opinion that rules official also disagreed at the end of the day it’s not up to me it’s up to the rules official that’s kind of that despite the disappointment Burns won’t have to wait long to rebound he’s set to tee it up again this week at the Travelers Championship the final signature event of the PGA Tour season
Related Posts
Will Dustin Johnson take it home today? 👀 #golf #LIVGolf
Rickie Fowler Ready to Attack Final Round 🎯 | Knows What It’ll Take at BMW Championship
Harry Hall Locked In for Final Push 💪 | Staying Patient Ahead of BMW Championship Sunday
Highlights | Round 3 | BMW Championship | 2025
Henrik Stenson Fights for His LIV Golf Future
Shane Lowry-Patrick Cantlay group issued warning for pace of play #shorts #golf #pgatour