A controversial decision allows golfer to rake bunker before shot, igniting discussions on PGA Tour rules. #KevinRoy #JohnDeereClassic #GolfControversy #PGATour
Kevin Royy’s recent bunker ruling at the John Deere Classic has ignited a heated debate in the golf community. During the third round, Royy’s ball landed near his own footprints in a bunker. After consulting with a rules official, he was permitted to rake the sand before taking his next shot, as the footprints were deemed not in his line of play. This decision, based on rule 12.2b2, has drawn criticism from fans and commentators alike. Dame Laura Davies expressed her disbelief, stating, “I think that’s a dafted rule. The game is not supposed to be as fair as that. If you make a mistake, you have to be punished.